Pentax QS-1 and the 35mm Pentax Limited Macro

An embarrasingly long time ago, Partner in Climb gave me an adaptor to use between the QS-1 and my ‘big camera’ lenses. It’s safe to say that this has been under-utilised, having to date been formally put to work only once – for the moonshot. One of my friends has been about on facebook lately, taking pictures of flowers in the garden and such. This, combined with a day stuck inside waiting for a parcel, has inspired me to take up the challenge of finding some photos in my tiny, rather uninspiring front (and only!) garden. I have duly taken out the adaptor, put upon it my sharpest, most awesome big-camera lens – the Pentax 35mm Limited Macro – and gone out into the world of the miniscule in my garden. None of the images below have aperture values, as I simply used the sliding aperture dial of the adaptor Q and I have no idea what that translates as in real life.

Captured-51/160s, 35mm (165mm equiv. with adaptor Q), ISO 400

To give you an idea of how truly minute we’re talking here, I took the liberty of snapping a photo of this exact same dandelion seed next to my finger.

Captured-6Going down to such tiny things actually made this whole venture quite exciting. I felt like I was exploring a whole new world that I’d never before realised existed and that was right outside my front door. It was incredible.

Captured-71/200s, 35mm (165mm equiv. with adaptor Q) ISO 160

This tiny flower was caught in a spider’s web. It was so small I barely recognised it as a flower, and I’m not sure I’ve ever actually seen the plant it came from. Trying to get a shot of it not blowing about in the wind was tricky, but worthwhile.

Daisy1/125s, 35mm (165mm equiv. with adaptor Q), ISO 400

I’ve left this photo full-size, pretty much directly off-camera. It’s a daisy, wilted but still amazing. If I’m honest, I’m amazed at how much beauty can exist within a metre of your doorway and never be recognised. I’d written off our garden as an interest to anyone, but I’ve never been happier to be proven wrong. I’ve just never really looked at it before.

spider on leaf1/160s, 35mm (165mm equiv. with adaptor Q), ISO 200

I can also say good things about the adaptor Q/Pentax 35mm Limited combination. The magnification is just staggering and borders on a low-power microscope: I’ve never seen the eyes of a woodlouse before, and with good reason –  they are near-invisible to the naked eye. With this combination I could pick out individual facets of their compound eyes, and that isn’t even at closest focus. The variable aperture on the adaptor Q is actually very useful despite its arbitrary 1-8 scale, particularly in the context of macro photography. It’s certainly something I will be trying again.

Leave a Reply

