Like Father

As a teenager I decided I would never be a doctor. I wasn’t much of a non-conformist – in fact, I was sickeningly well-behaved – but I knew that there was a stereotype of medicine running in families and I wasn’t having any of it. My father was a doctor and was often home late or working odd hours on Christmas and weekends and I thought – not for me. I was going to do Science with a capital ‘S’, and was planning to apply for a degree in Natural Sciences. Lab work didn’t necessarily appeal much, but enough time to think about that after university. When I told my family my plans, they were all very supportive. My dad made only one suggestion – that I do a week of work experience in hospital, just to see. That sounded reasonable and I agreed. I walked into the hospital foyer at Bighospital and I’d never felt more at home. It was a defining moment that changed the course of my life.

I trained at the university associated with Bighospital but spent remarkably little time there – my placements were generally in satellite hospitals across the region. One of these I loved so much I applied there for my foundation programme. Now, eight years after first walking in the main entrance, I am back. I come home late. I work odd hours on Christmas and weekends. I am my father’s son.

The Eternal ClockThe Eternal Clock (photo by Robbert van de Steeg)

I understand why, now.

6 responses to “Like Father

    • Not even a little bit. I didn’t get further than the foyer before that incredible feeling of coming home hit me. The rest of it was academic. One of the clearest moments I’ve had, ever. It was uncanny.

Leave a Reply

