FPAS II

Out of 7170 final year medical students nationwide, 81 have failed to get a job in the first round and have been allocated to the reserve list, meaning that they have to wait for people to fail finals in order to secure a post.

Thankfully, I am not one of those 81 people. I have a job in my first choice foundation school, staying relatively close to Partner in Climb and all of that other stuff that is familiar and comforting. In one sense, that’s a pity – unattached, I would probably have applied to Scotland or someplace similar just for an adventure – but I am quite content with the outcome under the circumstances. I have friends who have been booted rudely down the list of preferences (and these are hard working, distinction-level students with excellent social skills and who are probably going to end up better doctors than I) to obscure corners of the UK and so I am suitably grateful. Phase 1 is done. Now for phase 2.

Ohyes, it’s not over. See, a first job offer in medicine isn’t like a normal job offer, where some of the more basic information about your job like location or content is easily available for perusal; no sir. I could receive one of several hundred jobs, based once again on the arbitrary scoring criteria that led to me being in my foundation school in the first place. I could be in any one of the hospitals in my foundation school, doing any one of the variegated rotations (which range from surgical to geriatric medicine). The NHS, in its eternal wisdom, has decided that the simplest way to make sure nobody is completely happy is for us all to rank every available post in order of preference and then hope that we end up with one that we can tolerate.

With that in mind, I am sitting down to rank hundreds of individual posts, one at a time. This grading, alongside that of the hundreds of other applicants, will be casually chucked into a computer that will chunder up a job offer for every candidate. To be fair, I can’t think of a better (cheap! has to be cheap) system that can manage the volume of candidates for each job effectively, but it does seem a little risky (especially for the employers – very little in terms of interviewing, you might end up with an incompetent psychopath!). Next deadline is mid January, so best get cracking. So far, I have managed to rank a total of 6 jobs.

Cracking.

3 responses to “FPAS II

  1. Congratulations!

    I know what you’re saying about being unattached and having an adventure and what have you, but sometimes life doesn’t turn out like that, as J discovered when he moved to my home city (and as I will no doubt discover if major career opportunities present themselves later down the road). And I too am quite content with that 🙂

    Wow, so very few doctors actually chose the field that they ended up in? Might explain a certain amount…

    • Initially they don’t, but starting next year I can begin to focus my placements a little more, and more and more and then MORE until all I do is see sick children between the age of 5 and 7 months or something.

      Of course, not really knowing where you want to end up is not conducive to incisive decision making.

Leave a Reply

